*tap tap*

Is this blog still working? It’s been a while, right?

Is anyone still following it, or did you all lose it when bloglines shut?

I’ve suddenly found myself reading short fiction again, after a long break. So I thought I’d share a couple of stories I’ve enjoyed.

Sixty Years in the Women’s Province by Benjanun Sriduangkaew (Giganotosaurus) is a lovely story about a woman in a world that moves at a time-scale at odds with Earth’s, so time moves faster her than there. It’s an all-women society where women marry and reproduce by drinking from a river. It’s a fun story with lots of cool ideas, but it’s the characterisation that really stands out; the central characters are really well drawn and their relationships are poignant. 

I also really enjoyed the author’s story in the latest Solaris Rising anthology, so she’s definitely an author I’ll be looking out for more stories from.

Somewhat different in tone, I also enjoyed A Marriage of True Minds, by Samantha Memi (Birkensnake). It’s pretty much an absurd nonsense story, but it made me smile.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

